FIM GP Challenge qualifier Rasmus Jensen is the new Danish Championship after seeing off Anders Thomsen to lift the title in Holsted on Wednesday.

Jensen roared to a 15-point maximum in the heats, before finishing second in the final to end the night with 17 points.

Despite Thomsen taking victory in the final, his 13-point tally in the heats meant Jensen did enough to deny the Speedway GP rider what would have been a third straight national title.

Former Speedway GP star Kenneth Bjerre took third place on 14 points, with his younger brother Lasse fourth on nine – having only entered the line-up when European champion Mikkel Michelsen withdrew due to injury.

Andreas Lyager also scored nine, just missing out on the final on countback, while Patrick Hansen, Frederik Jakobsen, Kenneth Hansen and Jonas Seifert-Salk all scored eight.

Speedway GP star Leon Madsen endured a disastrous start to the night when he crashed in heat one, along with Michael Jepsen Jensen. Both riders withdrew from the rest of the meeting.

According to Madsen’s Polish club Czestochowa, the rider suffered no broken bones in the incident and was just left battered and bruised.

He is due to line up at the 3W FIM Speedway GP of Poland – Gorzow this Saturday along with Thomsen and Michelsen.