Aggregate bonus points will be up for grabs in Britain’s top leagues after clubs voted to ditch the country’s complex scoring system for 2023 at the British Speedway Promoters Ltd annual meeting.

In an online vote, fans indicated that they preferred a simplified scoring system, which sees clubs earn two points for a win, and a bonus point for scoring the most points on aggregate over the clubs’ home and away meetings – similar to the format used in the Polish, Swedish and Danish leagues.

This will be introduced in the SGB Premiership, where clubs will stage A and B fixtures, meeting home and away twice. It will also apply in the SGB Championship, where teams have agreed to meet home and away once – and not twice as originally planned due to fears there was not enough time in the schedule for more league matches to be staged.

There will no longer be draws in either league. Any meetings that end tied will be settled by a super heat, along with any deadlocks for the aggregate bonus point.

In a similar format to the FIM Speedway of Nations, the winner receives four points, with three for second, two for third and none for finishing last. The team that records the most points in the super heat scores two league points, with the other side still earning one league point.

For the first time ever, electronic timing will be introduced in British speedway as the BSPL teams up with MYLAPS, with the system available to confirm race times and settle any close finishes.

Leicester’s promotion to the SGB Premiership was confirmed at the AGM, and they join champions Belle Vue, Sheffield, Wolverhampton, Ipswich, King’s Lynn and Peterborough in a seven-team league.

The clubs will build their sides to a limit of 39.00 points for six riders, as well as signing one Rising Star from a list of British riders.

The top four sides will contest the play-offs, while the Knockout Cup will be staged, along with a three-round Pairs series, with meetings taking place at Ipswich, King’s Lynn and Sheffield.

With Edinburgh securing an extra year at their Armadale home, the SGB Championship will feature nine clubs, also including champions Poole, Glasgow, Berwick, Redcar, Scunthorpe, Plymouth, Birmingham and Oxford.

The SGB Championship play-offs have been overhauled following criticism that the top two sides were previously left facing a long wait to stage their semi-finals while the quarters were completed.

The top six finishers in the league will now be split into two groups of three, with the group winners facing off in the Grand Final. The top two finishers will select their opponents for the group stage of the play-offs.

Teams will be built to a limit of 40.00 points for seven riders. There will also be a Knockout Cup competition and a regionalised early-season cup competition with the teams drawn into groups of three. Berwick, Edinburgh and Glasgow meet in one group, with Redcar, Scunthorpe and Birmingham facing off and southern clubs Poole, Plymouth and Oxford also meeting.

The three group winners and the highest-scoring runners-up progress to the semi-final, with a final to decide the tournament winners.

The National League annual meeting takes place on November 29. But it has already been confirmed that speedway will return to Cumbrian town Workington at their revamped Northside track.

Photo: Taylor Lanning